Geocaching by Kayak

Geocaching by Kayak

Old truck found on Wallace Island, BC while Geocaching by kayak.Photo courtesy Jennifer Barnes

Old truck found on Wallace Island, BC while Geocaching by kayak.
Photo courtesy Jennifer Barnes

A couple of years ago my wife Jen and I found out about the game of geocaching. For those not in the know, Geocaching is an activity where the use of hand-held GPS units and Tupperware combine. Using pre-set co-ordinates found on geocaching.com we set out around Salt Spring Island and places elsewhere in search of sometimes tough to find small containers of goodies left hidden by others. I have found caches as close to my house as a five-minute walk and as far north as Dawson City, Yukon. In fact, it is world-wide. Simply go to the website, click on the hide and seek section and type in virtually any location on the planet and you will find at least one cache hidden there.

But it is not just on foot that you can go geocaching. Being a kayaker I immediately searched for potential treasure around my own paddling backyard and voila, there are loads! The nearest other than the one is under a rock on a nearby trail, the next one is my excuse for an afternoon paddle over to Wallace Island.

Wallace is my usual paddle. From a launch close by it is a leisurely two hours on the water to cross part of Trincomali Channel and then round the long island of Wallace. There is treasure to be found there. Several hides appeared on the Google map on the website. All along the wonderful hiking trail that runs the entire length of the island. The first cache is one of three at Chivers Point where there is available camping so a weekend of kayaking and treasure hunting can be easily done.

My mission was to find a cache on Wallace, and with my Garmen Legend GPS in hand I loaded up the kayak for an afternoon adventure. And I brought along the video camera as well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juBM5ImrZ0w&feature=g-upl

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by paddlinboy on February 16, 2013 - 4:01 pm

    Thanks for including my post in yours. I will have to come geocaching in Prague some day!

  1. Weekly Image Of Life: Event « PragueByKaty
