A Paddler’s Therapy on Film

It has been a few days since I last posted. Things got busy last week and then I was knocked off my feet (literally on my knees) and hugging the nurse, riding the porcelain bus…you get the idea so there is no need to describe in earthy goopy details the violent atrocities that occurred for about 48 hours. Needless to say I thank my wife Jen for the stomach bug that she had and finished with. My version was worse, yes I am that competitive.

Anyway, with tummy somewhat settling down if a big gurgling I plan a bit of kayaking therapy, another long paddling day this coming Sunday. Paddling from town (Ganges on Saltspring Island) to Fulford Harbour (also on Salt Spring Island) some 20+ kms to the south. I have done it before and is a sweet day out passing shoreline homes and Ruckle Provincial Park.

Being in the kayak no matter what is going on at home on land has always chilled me out. Call it what you will, floatation therapy, paddling or recreational therapy all I know is that it works. A few minutes in the boat and floating while adjusting my spray skirt or just simply floating before the thousands of paddle strokes begins, for that time I am melted into a happy place of deep inner calm. Which is good because an hour later I most likely will be dealing with rising winds and obstinate currents. These seem trivial when reading a story about a fellow paddler who has had some great weights upon his spirit. That paddler being Zac Crouse who sadly witnessed the death of a good friend in a kayaking accident. He fell into disrepair after than and diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

To help heal his heart and mind he chose a positive, to use both a love of music and kayaking as a mode of self-therapy. I encourage you to click on the link below, which leads to an Indiegogo campaign he has running to raise the funds for post production of his documentary, Paddle to the Ocean and accompanying soundtrack CD.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/paddle-to-the-ocean

, , , , , , , , ,

