Around Salt Spring Island (photos)

Did you really think I would paddle all the way around the  72km  (44 3/4 miles) of my home of Salt Spring Island without my camera? Never! I completed the marathon day in 11 hours and 17 minutes though my buddy who came out to paddle the last few kilometers with me suggested my overall time would have been better if I didn’t keep stopping to take pictures. It was just and excuse to rest my arms.

Here is what took place where my last blog post left you. It was a truly tough, daunting day of sunshine, light winds and favourable currents and long hours of paddling. If you have not paddled here, you should. It is a world-class kayaker location for all levels. I could glow on and on…let the pics do the talking shall we.

Sorting out my gear for the marathon day around Salt Spring Island. Departure time 6:30 am.

Sorting out my gear for the marathon day around Salt Spring Island. Departure time 6:30 am.

It was not long after I set out heading north to the tip of the island that the sun rose behind me over Galiano Island. It was a very welcome sight.

It was not long after I set out heading north to the tip of the island that the sun rose behind me over Galiano Island. It was a very welcome sight.

At Southey Point ironically at the northern tip of the island the sunrise colours were amazing. Look snow on the mountains.

At Southey Point ironically at the northern tip of the island the sunrise colours were amazing. Look snow on the mountains.

With the ugly Crofton Mill pumping out effluent to my right I look down toward the view I will have most of the morning in Stuart Channel.

With the ugly Crofton Mill pumping out effluent to my right I look down toward the view I will have most of the morning in Stuart Channel.

Nearing Burgoyne Bay I paddle through orange seas. The aftermath of the Herring orgy of previous days, I ask no questions.

Nearing Burgoyne Bay I paddle through orange seas. The aftermath of the Herring orgy of previous days, I ask no questions.

I had planned at least 3 stops during the day to stretch and do what is needed doing. This was my first stop, a small shelter used by local fishers and partiers too I am sure.

I had planned at least 3 stops during the day to stretch and do what is needed doing. This was my first stop, a small shelter used by local fishers and partiers too I am sure.

I decided to take a cautious route at the end of Sansum Narrows. The current was about 4 knots and as I took this pic I suddenly shot to my right and was sent around the lighthouse at high speed entertaining 2 guys in a boat who hooted as I zipped by at about 12 knots. Stayed upright and had a great ride.

I decided to take a cautious route at the end of Sansum Narrows. The current was about 4 knots and as I took this pic I suddenly shot to my right and was sent around the lighthouse at high speed entertaining 2 guys in a boat who hooted as I zipped by at about 12 knots. Stayed upright and had a great ride.

Reaching my half-way point, or near enough. Cape Keppel and a nice view in the far distance of Mt. Baker.

Reaching my half-way point, or near enough. Cape Keppel and a nice view in the far distance of Mt. Baker.

At Isabella Point at the entrance to Fulford Harbour and a lovely quest cottage in the rocks with our local Arbutus Trees. Nice!

At Isabella Point at the entrance to Fulford Harbour and a lovely guest cottage in the rocks with our local Arbutus Trees. Nice!

Looking across Fulford Harbour, and watching for ferries. I would later have an encounter at Long Harbour. The winds are picking up...great...

Looking across Fulford Harbour, and watching for ferries. I would later have an encounter at Long Harbour. The winds are picking up…great…

After a short break on a rock with a low tide only beach I started my northern leg into the wind around Ruckle Provincial Park. A few campers and lots of sailers on the water.

After a short break on a rock with a low tide only beach I started my northern leg into the wind around Ruckle Provincial Park. A few campers and lots of sailers on the water.

This was a shorter distance between breaks. I stopped here for one last stretch before paddling the last leg to home.

This was a shorter distance between breaks. I stopped here for one last stretch before paddling the last leg to home.

As I sorted out my stuff at the last rest break of the day I was surrounded by dozens of nesting geese. It was a loud loud spot to be. I didn't want ot disturb them, but I really had to pee!

As I sorted out my stuff at the last rest break of the day I was surrounded by dozens of nesting geese. It was a loud loud spot to be. I didn’t want ot disturb them, but I really had to pee!

That is where the picture taking ended. I was all about paddling after that with about 25 kms to go, and knowing the last stretch would be long and hard. I was feeling good and to my surprise a buddy of mine came out in the channel to meet up with me and paddle the last of it. Thanks to his coaxing (a cold beer he had waiting for me in the creek) and some coaching I finished the day with a good time set and a great time had.

Here are a couple of screen shots from the SPOT tracker.

From Hudson Point to Burgoyne Bay and keeping a good pace I see.

From Hudson Point to Burgoyne Bay and keeping a good pace I see.

From Burgoyne Bay to the start/finish line. You can see the speed gain in the narrows. If only the whole day was so fast.

From Burgoyne Bay to the start/finish line. You can see the speed gain in the narrows. If only the whole day was so fast.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Vladimir Brezina on April 2, 2013 - 4:20 pm

    Great trip and photos! Will be looking out for more 🙂

    • #2 by paddlinboy on April 2, 2013 - 6:12 pm

      I couldn’t have asked for a better day to paddle. Even the north winds seemed to settle down in time. I will be posting part two soon.

