Hobbit Kayakers

While I am off work this winter I have been cleaning up around the place, beginning with the kitchen. That task done, and with this week’s triumph of finding the workshop floor under months of clutter I have turned my attention to the computer files. A rigorous, some would say even brutal editing of my photo files has begun. Why is there seventeen copies of the same dang kayak on the beach image? Alas.

Another vexing question is why one camera takes video that will play on demand, while the other waterproof camera forces me to convert its videos before viewing. I think it might be time to invest in a GoPro and be done with this, but in the meantime I have been converting files that have no titles. My methods of cataloging  as you may have guessed by this point are, well random at best. But hidden behind the mystery files have popped up some surprises and old friends. This video in particular taken a couple of summers ago with my good friend Mike as we paddled on this hot calm day out of Long Harbour around the point to have lunch at a beach known as Chocolate Beach. There isn’t any chocolate there, it went extinct. However, on this day we were Hobbits of the seas paddling under the ever watchful eye. To make matters odder still, you will hear a kitten meowing around the 37 second mark of the video. My point and shoot camera’s least annoying start-up sound.

Remember young Hobbits, One does not simply paddle into Mordor!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Steve Adams on January 18, 2014 - 6:39 pm

    i’m in complete amazement you don’t have a gopro. just recently i had two, one for the front and rear of my boat and i had mounts on all of my boats. the second one i bought in afghanistan. if you can buy them there, every civilian should go down to walmart and buy one. get a gopro!

    • #2 by paddlinboy on January 18, 2014 - 9:35 pm

      Ya, I am long overdue for a gadget upgrade. It would be awesome to have one at both ends of the kayak. Good plan!

      • #3 by Steve Adams on January 18, 2014 - 10:31 pm

        here’s my suggestion of the day – go with a hero3 or hero3+ black edition. don’t bother with the others. yes, it’s expensive. but, it’s awesome. if you have a phone that supports the gopro app, it’s even awesomer! look on amazon or craigslist. great deals on amazon and there’s plenty of used cameras out there for a steal of a price on craigslist.

